Arturo Alvarez-Buylla PhD

Professor of Neurological Surgery, Heather and Melanie Muss Endowed Chair

Principal Investigator, Brain Tumor Center

Alvarez-Buylla Laboratory Website

The Eli and Edythe Broad Center of Regeneration Medicine and Stem Cell Research at UCSF

UCSF Profile

Dr. Alvarez-Buylla has an international reputation for his work in developmental neuroscience and stem-cell neurobiology research. His principal research interests are in neurogenesis of the adult mammalian brain, the assembly of the brain, brain tumors and repair, and the ontogeny and phylogeny of behavior.  

His expertise encompasses the fields of developmental biology, developmental neuroscience, neurobiology, molecular and cellular neurobiology, and learning and plasticity. An innovator and inventor as well as a scientist, Dr. Alvarez-Buylla has designed a device for mounting tissue sections on histological slides, a digital stereotaxic apparatus for mice and song birds, a computer-based mapping system for tissue sections, and a fluorescent staining technique.

Education, Training, and Previous Positions

1983: Licenciado in Biomedical Research, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
1982-1983: Graduate Courses, Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico
1988: PhD, Rockefeller University
1988-1989: Postdoctoral Research, Rockefeller University
1989-1991: Assistant Professor, Rockefeller University
1991-1995: Assistant Professor-Head of Laboratory, Rockefeller University
1995-2000: Associate Professor-Head of Laboratory, Rockefeller University

Selected Professional Memberships and Appointments

Society for Neuroscience
International Brain Research Organization
Society for Biochemistry
Academia de Ciencias de America Latina (ACAL)
International Society for Stem Cell Research

Selected Honors and Awards

1981-1982: Undergraduate International Fellowship - Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM)
1983: Medal Gavino Barreda- UNAM
1992: Robert L. Sinsheimer Award in Molecular Biology
2000: Jacob Javits Award
2002: Neuronal Plasticity Prize. Fondation IPSEN, France. (Shared with Dr. R. McKay and Dr. S. Weiss)
2003: Catedra Miguel Aleman, Meixco, D.F.
2004: The Givaudan-Roure 2004 Lecture and Award (Association for Chemoreception Sciences)
2006: Catedra Santiago Grisolía, Spain. Lecture and Award.
2006: "Académico Correspondiente Extranjero". Real Academia de Ciencias Exactas, Físicas y Naturales. Spain.
2007: Catedra Ramón y Cajal, Sociedad Española de Neurología, Spain.
2011: Prince of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research, Fundacíon Príncipe de Asturias, Spain. (Shared with Dr. Joseph Altman and Giacomo Rizzolatti)
2012: NICH; NIH Merit award
2013: American Academy of Arts and Sciences, USA
2013: Catedra de Excelencia Banco de Santander, Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona
2014: New York University, Honors Lecture, New York
2014: Honorary Segerfalk Lecture Award/ Annual Neuroscience Day, Lund University, Sweden
2016: Scientific Council of P.K. Anokhin Research Institute, Pentennial Medal, Russia


For a full list of publications, click here.