Caleb Rutledge MD

Caleb Rutledge MD

Expected Graduation Date: 2020





Education, Training, and Previous Positions

2007: BS, Furman University
2013: MS, Emory Laney Graduate School
2013: MD, Emory University School of Medicine

Selected Honors and Awards

2012: Alpha Omega Alpha, Emory University School of Medicine
2012: Platform Presentation, Society for Neuro-Oncology 17th Annual Scientific Meeting
2011: TL1 Predoctoral Research Training Award, NIH/NCRR and the Atlanta Clinical and Translational Science Institute
2011: Joseph B. Whitehead Surgery Scholarship, Emory University School of Medicine
2008: School of Medicine Dean’s Scholarship, Emory University School of Medicine
2007: Magna Cum Laude, Furman University
2007: Phi Beta Kappa, Furman University
2005: Undergraduate Organic Chemistry Award, American Chemical Society
2005: Award for Achievement in Organic Chemistry, Furman University
2004: Keeler Chemistry Scholarship, Furman University
2004: 1st place, Undergraduate Inorganic Chemistry Research, SERMACS 2004

Selected Professional Memberships

American Association of Neurological Surgeons
Congress of Neurological Surgeons
Society for Neuro-Oncology

Selected Recent Publications

Rutledge WC, Kong J, Gao J, Gutman DA, Cooper L, Appin C, Park Y, Scarpace L, Mikkelsen T, Cohen ML, Aldape KD, McLendon RE, Lehman NL, Miller CR, Schniederjan MJ, Brennan CW, Moreno CS, Saltz JH, Brat DJ. Tumor-infiltrating lymphocytes in glioblastoma are associated with specific genomic alterations and related to transcriptional class [published online ahead of print July 17, 2013]. Clin Cancer Res. doi:10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-13-0551 

Miller BA, Rutledge WC, Ioachimescu AG, Oyesiku NM. Management of large aggressive nonfunctional pituitary tumors: experimental medical options when surgery and radiation fail. Neurosurg Clin N Am 2012;23(4):587-94.

Rutledge WC, Miller BA, Dannenbaum MJ, Gross RE, Barrow DL. Subarachnoid haemorrhage associated with an intrathecal catheter. Br J Neurosurg 2012;26(6):923-4.

Mutrie CJ, Eldaif SM, Rutledge CW, Force SD, Grist WJ, Mansour KA, Miller DL. Cervical tracheal resection: new lessons learned. Ann Thorac Surg 2011;91(4):1101-6; discussion 1106.

Vagnini MT, Rutledge WC, Wagenknecht PS. Measurement of both the equilibrium constant and rate constant for electronic energy transfer by control of the limiting kinetic regimes. Inorg Chem 2010;49(3):833-8.

Eldaif SM, Mutrie CJ, Rutledge WC, Lin E, Force SD, Miller JI Jr, Mansour KA, Miller DL. The risk of esophageal resection after esophagomyotomy for achalasia. Ann Thorac Surg 2009;87(5):1558-62; discussion 1562-3.

Hecht I, Rong J, Sampaio AL, Hermesh C, Rutledge C, Shemesh R, Toporik A, Beiman M, Dassa L, Niv H, Cojocaru G, Zauberman A, Rotman G, Perretti M, Vinten-Johansen J, Cohen Y. A novel peptide agonist of formyl-peptide receptor-like 1 (ALX) displays anti-inflammatory and cardioprotective effects. J Pharmacol Exp Ther 2009;328(2):426-34.

Vagnini MT, Rutledge WC, Hu CJ, VanDerveer DG, Wagenknecht PS. Effects of steric constraint on chromium(III) complexes of tetraazamacrocycles, 4: Comparison of the trans-difluoro-complexes of tet a, 1,4-C-2-cyclam, and 1,11-C-3-cyclam. Inorganica Chimica Acta 2007;360(5):1482-92.